Meet The Author Monday – Edwina Kiernan

monday

 

Happy Monday!

Each Monday I would like to take some time to get to know some of our favorite authors. My hope is that this will help readers connect with the authors.

Today I would like to introduce you to: Edwina Kiernan!

I was introduced to Edwina by a reader friend. I love getting to know new authors! I look forward to getting to know her alongside you all!

EdwinaKiernan-Headshot

Author bio:

Edwina Kiernan is a Christian writer, and author of the Inspirational Regency romance novel, Ruby’s Redemption. 

An enthusiast of classic novels and history, Edwina combines her faith, imagination and research in hope-infused tales set in times past. Her latest novel is the second in the Inspirational Regency romance series, Gems of Grace. 

A lifelong word admirer, with Welsh and Irish heritage, she started writing stories early in childhood. She still loves to learn, taking courses from places like Oxford University and the Beau Monde, for both fun and further education. 

When she’s not writing, Edwina loves spending time with her dashing husband and lively little son, reading and studying the Bible, getting lost in a captivating novel and drinking more types of tea than most people realize even exist. 

Join her mailing list for free gifts, updates and lots of classic and historical fiction goodness. 

Subscribe at http://www.edwinakiernan.com

 

To help us get to know her, I have given her some questions and here are her responses:

 

Q: How long have you been writing?

A: I have been writing ever since I was old enough to write. I was constantly in possession of a notebook and pencil, and would spend many contented hours dreaming up stories about castles and houses and people who discovered intriguing secrets inside! I’ve written various formats across the years and had numerous poems, articles and devotionals published, but I always kept coming back to fiction, as it’s my favourite form to write.

 

Q: What are you currently working on?

A: I am currently working on Beryl’s Blessing (Book 3 in the Gems of Grace series), which features an unconventional heroine and a non-straightforward romance. Lord-willing, it will be released in November 2021.

 

Q: What are some of your writing must haves? (Drink, snack, supplies, etc.)

A: I love burning scented candles or essential oils and listening to instrumental soundtracks while I’m writing. I don’t really snack while I’m writing, but tea is a must-have! Either regular or green, depending on the time of day. I’m a bit of a tea enthusiast and tend to drink quite a few different types throughout the day.

 

Q: What is your favorite time period to write about? Or read about?

A: I absolutely love the Classics, and historical fiction set in the Georgian/Regency/Victorian eras and medieval period. I love Shakespeare and poetry, too. I’d love to write a medieval book set in Wales, and more Regency romances!

 

Q: What are some of your favorite books?

A: One of my favourite novels is The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte. Some other favourites are: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, The Prisoner of Zenda by Anthony Hope, Emma by Jane Austen, The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis and The Eagle of the Ninth by Rosemary Sutcliff.

 

Q: If you could spend a day with one fictional character, who would you pick and what would you do?

A: I would choose to spend the day horse-riding with Bree from The Horse And His Boy by C. S. Lewis! That would be pretty spectacular, as I LOVE horse-riding (but don’t get to do it very often), and Bree can talk, so it would be a fun day riding with (literally) lively conversation! And if there was a bookshop and a cafe that a talking Narnian horse could fit inside to finish the day off with, well, that would be splendid!

 

I have saved my favorite question for last!

Q: What would you like readers to take away from your books?

A: Hope. Life is tough. There’s no such thing as perfect this side of heaven. My earnest prayer is that everyone who reads any of my books will find hope and rest in God’s deep, redeeming love for them, and that they will find truth and freedom in the sacrifice and resurrection of Jesus. Some books will speak more clearly about these things, and some will hint more toward them, but I pray that each reader will be stirred to want to know God more, and will find love and security in Him.

 

To connect with Edwina, please click on any of the following links: her website and the Amazon page for her Gems of Grace series.

 

I’m also featuring her newest release, Pearl’s Promise. I absolutely love the cover of this book! I have it on my TBR and can’t wait to read it! Be sure to add it to your Goodreads shelf or get your copy here.

PearlsPromiseEdwinaKiernan

About the book:

A duty-bound heir. A dejected spinster.
An encounter that could ruin both their families’ demands for their futures…

Pearl Acton’s worst fears are coming true. She’ll be trapped in a loveless marriage—just like her parents—as her family seeks to quickly marry her off to the wealthy Mr. Clarence. Until an encounter with a quiet and soulful heir sparks a fragile hope that somehow Pearl might aid her family and marry for love.

Nicholas Dalton has always been a disappointment to his father, with his poetic soul and disorganised nature. In London for the season, Nicholas finds an instant connection with Pearl, but it would seem her future is promised to another. Or might she feel the same as he?

As Pearl and Nicholas each strive to uphold their family duties, they soon discover that things aren’t quite what they seem. But is it too late to escape their crushing obligations and forge a new path — together?

 

Thank you Edwina for your time! Please leave some love in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Meet The Author Monday – Edwina Kiernan

Leave a comment